Pelican DistrictDistrict Leadership

Pelican District

 

Juan Prado
District Director

(504) 889-0388 Ext. 239 
juan.prado@scouting.org

All districts and divisions are responsible for serving the units within their boundries through four standard functions:

  1. Membership 3. Unit Service
  2. Finance 4. Program
  (Activities and Civic Service, Camp Promotion and Outdoor, Advancement and Recognition, & Training)

The Boy Scout movement cannot achieve its purpose without first organizing units and enrolling members. The district cannot support its units without the funds to do it. Unit programs are supported by the district through its program functions and unit service. All four functions are equally important and necessary.

Each district in the Council regardless of size, has a District Committee to coordinate the work of the district. All of the functions of the district are carried out by members of the committee. District committee members are elected annually at the District Annual Meeting and installed at the District Banquet. The District Chair, and Vice-Chair as needed, are nominated by the District Nominating Committee. The District Chair serves as a member of the Council Executive Board for purposes of two-way communication and coordination between the Council and the District. The District Commissioner, appointed by the Council Executive Board, works with a team of Unit Commissioners and Roundtable Commissioners to serve Scout leaders throughout the District.

2017 District Committee

 

District
Chair

 

 Lynne Burkhart
lburkart@pncpa.com

 

District Commissioner

 Mark Young
Mark_Young@cox.net

District
Executive

 

 Juan Prado - District Director
juan.prado@scouting.org

 

Vice Chair - Program

VACANT

Vice Chair - Administration

 

 John Stiegman

johnstiegman@att.net

 

Vice Chair - Finance

VACANT

Vice Chair - Marketing

 

 Justin Abshire

justinabshire@hotmail.com

 

FOS Chairs

 

 Bob Bartlett

Bob@bartlett-engineering.com

 

Membership
Chair

 James Kinberger

jkinberger@broadmoorllc.com

Nominating Committee Chair

 

VACANT

Camping & Outdoor Promotion Committee Chair

 Matthew Mims
mmims10@gmail.com

Activities & Civic
Service Chair

VACANT

Advancement

 William Schneider

wmeschneider4@aol.com

Advancement
Eagles

 

 Ken Hays

kghays@gmail.com 

 

OA Chair

 

 Matthew Mims
mmims10@gmail.com

 

Cub Scout
Activities

VACANT

Training
Chair

 

 Wayne Tracy

wtracy1313@aol.com

 

Webmaster

 

 Justin Abshire

justinabshire@hotmail.com

 

   

Members at Large

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

District Event Chairs

District Camporee Chair

 Matthew Mims
mmims10@gmail.com

Metairie & Kenner Day Camp Director

VACANT

 

 

Popcorn
Kernal

 Bill Smith

wtsmith@chevron.com

 

     

 

District Commissioner Staff

District Commissioner

Mark Young

mark_young@cox.net

Assistant District
Commissioners

Terry Lind

tllind1954@yahoo.com

 

Wayne Tracy

wtracy1313@aol.com

Unit
Commissioners

Althea Vallotton
Ann Grass
Chris Torres
Chuck Lazarre
Glenn Hampton
John Olynick

Unit
Commissioners

John Stiegman
Louis Rodrigue
Roy Moore
Veronica Blanco
Wally Hymel

 

Roundtable Commissioner

Francis Exposito
visipaque@bellsouth.net

Cub Scout Roundtable Commissioner

Gerald Holland

holland270@aol.com

Boy Scout Roundtable Commissioner

Francis Exposito
visipaque@bellsouth.net

Council Venture Forum Commissioner

Kristi Hornsby

kristihornsby71@gmail.com

   

 

 



Serving Scouting in Southeast Louisiana Parishes of 
Assumption, Jefferson, Lafourche, Orleans, Plaquemine, St. John the Baptist, St. Bernard, St. Charles, St. James, St. Tammany, and Terrebonne 

4200 S. I-10 Service Rd. West, Metairie, Louisiana 70001 
P.O. Box 1146, Metairie, Louisiana  70004
(504) 889-0388 Fax: (504) 889-1162 Toll Free: (800) 394-9410
 

 Council Service Center Hours of Operation
Administrative Offices (Suite 101) - 8:30 a.m.-5:00 p.m. Monday-Friday
Council Services (Suite 125) - 9:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. Monday-Friday